Flora Reviews… The Lost Vampire (Last True Vampire #5) by Kate Baxter

Flora Reviews…

The Lost Vampire (Last True Vampire #5)

by Kate Baxter

 

Read: 31st July – 2nd August 2017

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating:  5 Stars

 

So, before we get into what I thought about this book, I want you to know that I was lucky enough to be given a digital version of this book for free from the publisher (St Martin’s Paperbacks) via Netgally.com in exchange for an honest review. Thanks for the advance copy.

The publication date was 1st August 2017.

 

…So what’s this book about?

The Lost Vampire is the fifth book (approx 380 pages) in the Last True Vampire series – a paranormal romance series featuring vampires, vampire half breeds called dhampirs, the berserkers (vampires’ mortal enemies), mages and witches, shapeshifters and other creatures that go bump in the night.  Each book brings us a turbulent romance between a new couple in this amazing paranormal world, while the story arc of rebuilding the vampire race and the fight to survive, evolves and continues as the backdrop to the romance.

Ms Baxter does a good job of weaving any pertinent information from previous books into this one so I don’t think that it’s vital to your enjoyment of this story to have read the previous books, however, as with most series, when you read novels in sequence you get to know the supporting characters and their world thus adding insights and the comfort of familiarity.

Those of my followers who have read my reviews before, will know that I don’t reveal spoilers or post plot twists in my reviews, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

The Lost Vampire is the fifth novel in Kate Baxter’s passionate, intoxicating and addictively dark Last True Vampire series. An unforgettable, intensely emotional, and hot series for fans of J.R. Ward, Nalini Singh, Lara Adrian and Larissa Ione.

Centuries ago, the vampire race was almost destroyed. Now, salvation rests upon one – the last true vampire.

Once one of the oldest dhampirs in existence, Saeed now faces a treacherously uncertain future as a vampire. He believes that the only thing that can restore his position within his coven and tether his lost soul is the flame-haired fae who is destined to be his mate.

Cerys Bain is a soul thief. She is feared by those who dwell in the supernatural realm – and hopelessly bound to the ruthless mage Rinieri de Rege. The raw, sensual vampire who enters her world is both a threat and an intoxicating temptation: no one has ever made Cerys feel the way Saeed does. But to claim their fate as soulmates, Saeed must first find a way to free Cerys from Rin. Is their desire worth the risk of certain destruction – and eternal doom?

Addicted to the wild world of the Last True Vampire? Don’t miss the earlier books in the series, The Last True Vampire, The Warrior Vampire, The Dark Vampire and The Untamed Vampire.

 

 …So, what did I like about it?

I have become a firm fan of Ms Baxter’s writing style; I find her books very easy to read and love the way she creates her stories. I like the pace of her tales, how the plot evolves and the urban fantasy world that she’s built. I think that the balance in her stories between great banter, hold-your-breath tension, kickass fighting and steamy sex scenes are really good. The Lost Vampire did not disappoint!

Those of you who have read my reviews before know that I am an old romantic at heart, so the “two halves of one soul reunited” love story part of this tale satisfied my mushy side but it was the real relationship reservations, concerns and the obstacles that both Cerys and Saeed experience and have to overcome that adds a very real and contemporary feel to this love story.

I must also mention that it’s not just our main characters that have this level of depth; every character that Ms Baxter includes has their own set of idiosyncrasies that they cease to be just filler characters but become just as real as our main couple.

The Lost Vampire made me chuckle out loud, wipe tears from my eyes, had me on the edge of my seat with tension and gave me yummy flutters of arousal; in short – I was gripped from the first page to the last.

 

…So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

Absolutely nothing, that’s why it got 5 stars!

 

…So, basically what I’m saying is…

This is another amazing instalment of what has become one of my favourite paranormal romance series; I loved it!

If you’re a fan of adult paranormal romance stories where your heroines are intelligent, witty and independent and your heroes are strong sexy alphas with a big heart waiting to be unleashed or if you’ve enjoyed reading the “destined soul-mate” theme of Felicity Heaton’s Eternal Mates Series or Dianne Duvall’s Immortal Guardians Series, then I think this paranormal romance will be right up your street!

So, has my review of THE LOST VAMPIRE (LAST TRUE VAMPIRE #5) encouraged you to find out more about this book or this amazing paranormal romance series? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself and find out more about the author or if you want to see the other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See THE LOST VAMPIRE (LAST TRUE VAMPIRE #5) on Goodreads.com

Buy THE LOST VAMPIRE (LAST TRUE VAMPIRE #5) through the usual sources, including Amazon.co.uk or through Amazon.com

Connect with KATE BAXTER via Facebook  or Twitter or Goodreads

If you’re interested, you can read all my Last True Vampire series reviews to date by clicking the links below:

Stripped Bear (Book 0.5)The Last True Vampire (Book 1)The Warrior Vampire (Book 2)The Dark Vampire (Book 3)The Untamed Vampire (Book 4)


One thought on “Flora Reviews… The Lost Vampire (Last True Vampire #5) by Kate Baxter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.