Flora Reviews… Forgotten (Rune Witch Mysteries #3) by Victoria DeLuis

Flora Reviews…

Forgotten (Rune Witch Mysteries #3) by Victoria DeLuis

Read: 8th – 9th July 2018

Format: Kindle

My Goodreads Rating: 5 Stars

 

So, before we get into what I thought about this book, I want you to know that I given a digital version of this book for free from the author (Victoria DeLuis) in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks for the advanced copy.

 

So what’s this book about?

Forgotten is the third book in the Rune Witch Mysteries  series; an urban fantasy/ paranormal mystery that blends our modern ideas about witchcraft and magic with Welsh mythology. Forgotten is a story (approx 158 pages) set in modern day Wales, UK, featuring our leading lady and rune witch, Summer Daniels, her long time boyfriend, Thomas Heart, who is human and a master in the martial art of Krav Magna, as well as a host of supernatural beings including fairies, dragons and witches.

If you’ve read any of my reviews before, you’ll know that I don’t post spoilers or reveal plot twists in my book reviews, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

Some things are worth fighting for, but how much is worth losing?

A curse plagues my family. It killed my Nana and broke my mother’s heart. Now, it’s after me, but I’m going to do everything in my power to find those responsible and defeat the curse.

My investigation connects me with my mother’s past, and leads me deeper into the world of the Tylwyth Teg.

With danger all around, I’ll do everything I can to keep safe and find the truth, but when I’m surrounded by enemies, how can I protect everyone I love?

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Charmed will love this modern take on witchcraft and Welsh mythology.

 

I would like to take this opportunity to let you all know that the continuing mystery of the “Daniel Family Curse” is the main plotline within this book and it is still left to continue into the next one due to be published later this year. If I’m honest, I don’t think that Forgotten can be read as a standalone story – Ms DeLuis includes the basic information a new reader may need into this tale, however, I fear that you’d miss the nuances of knowing the existing characters, understanding the dynamics of relationships as well as miss the small clues from past adventures concerning the ongoing family curse plot line if you just jump in cold.

Click the titles to read my reviews for the books in the series so far; Taken (Rune Witch Mysteries #1), Hidden (Rune Witch Mysteries #2) or by searching the tag #Rune Witch Mysteries

 

So, what did I like about it?

I have become a fan of Victoria DeLuis; I find her writing style very easy to read, I love the way she crafts her stories, the pace of her books, the intelligence of her plots and how they evolve.

I love the paranormal/urban fantasy world that Ms DeLuis is building in this series – a wonderful mix of fantasy and reality that ignites my interest. I thought the first chapter was fantastic; Ms DeLuis reminded us of our main characters, their relationship and the threat looming on the horizon. I loved the hints that Summer and Thomas hadn’t thought about ALL the possible outcomes to their quest to negate the Daniels Curse.

As with the previous books, I loved that I was holding my breath during the many fight scenes, it was tense but in a good way, an interesting mix of physical and magical skills.

I love that Summer and Thomas are still so much in love after being together for 8 years, their relationship is strong, stable and they are still very much aroused by each other. Their companionship, the banter they share and their loyalty to each other is wonderful to read and adds a further dimension to this book. I’ve enjoyed that the series began with their long-term relationship already solid and just waiting to take that next step into a permanent commitment, it’s a unique situation and it’s one of the aspects of the Rune Witch Mysteries that keeps drawing me back.

My intellect enjoyed the twists and turns that Ms DeLuis took us on, I was completely blind-sided a couple of times, I wasn’t ever sure how things were going to pan out, which clues related to the curse and which to the ever growing list of enemies Summer and Thomas seem to be accruing but I couldn’t help turning the pages to find out.

I must be honest and confess that there were a few of scenes in this book that brought a lump to my throat and a couple that had me blubbering like a baby but fear not, avid readers, this is no romantic weepy, there’s plenty of tension and action and great well written banter that, like most Brits, I do love.

 

So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

I gave this book 5stars because I enjoyed every page. (Even the parts that made me cry.)

My only gripe is that the ending is a mini cliffhanger. Another aspect of the continuing mystery of the “Daniel Family Curse” is solved while the solution is left to continue into the next one due to be published later this summer.

 

So, basically what I’m saying is…

I really loved this tale. It had everything that I look for in a 5 star book; mystery, action, magic, humour and even a sprinkling of romance.

I would recommend this book to those who of you who love a mystery to solve, enjoy fantasy and adventure themes and don’t mind a bit of romance thrown in. There are no explicit or graphic violent or sexual scenes and so I feel comfortable recommending this book to anyone who likes reading paranormal mysteries.

So, has my review of FORGOTTEN (RUNE WITCH MYSTERIES #3) encouraged you to find out more? Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself or to find out more about the author. To see the other books I’ve read, take a look at my profile on Goodreads.

See FORGOTTEN (RUNE WITCH MYSTERIES #3) on Goodreads.com

Buy FORGOTTEN (RUNE WITCH MYSTERIES #3) through the usual sources, including Amazon

Visit VICTORIA DeLUIS‘s own little corner of the web, connect to her on social media via Twitter or Facebook


4 thoughts on “Flora Reviews… Forgotten (Rune Witch Mysteries #3) by Victoria DeLuis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.