Flora Reviews… Invasion (The Warrior Chronicles #4) by K.F. Breene

Invasion (Warrior Chronicles #4) by K.F. Breene

Read: 23rd – 24th June 2019

Publication Date: 25th October 2015

Quote from Invasion

”Fate has brought them to you [Shanti]. They have a purpose, and that purpose will be with you somehow.”

“Fate. I bloody hate Fate. He’s such a nosey bastard.”

My Overall Rating: 5/5

Plot: 5/5 – Flow: 5/5 – Character Development: 5/5 – World Building: 4/5

Invasion is the fourth book (approx 251 pages) in K.F. Breene’s epic fantasy series – The Warrior Chronicles – a completed six book series with a prequel novella available too, which follows Shanti on her quest to kill The Supreme Being, Xandre, who is a despicable dictator who’s vision it is to have everyone in the land under his tyrannical rule and who was part of the massacre of her entire village when she was just 5 years old.

The world Ms Breene created is populated by peoples of different clans with varying skills such as being skilled craftsmen, effective traders or trained warriors who fight with blade and arrow to either protect their inhabitants or to enslave others. Some individuals, throughout this fantasy land, also have additional paranormal mind Gifts.

If you’ve read any of my reviews before, you’ll know that I write about how the story was told rather than the plot itself, which means that my reviews don’t contain spoilers of any kind or reveal any plot twists, so here’s what the official blurb has to say about the story:

The Hunter was not trained to admit defeat.

With the title of Chosen secured, Shanti and Cayan must look to the next steps in ripping back their freedom from the most deadly tyrant in the land. Unfortunately, they aren’t the only ones with an agenda.

Without mental power to defend themselves, the Westwood Lands are trapped within their own walls. Under the threat of torture and eventual death, a new power rises.

To be discovered will mean death. But doing nothing is not an option.

As I’ve said before, epic fantasy isn’t my first choice of reading material but because I was already fan of K.F. Breene’s writing style, I started this series with an open mind back in December last year. OMG! I loved the first book, Chosen and downloaded the rest of the series shortly after finishing it, adding the Audible narrations too so that I could read AND listen to the stories, which has become my favourite way to read a book. Each book has gripped me from the first page to the last.

Invasion continues the story where Shadow Lands left off, with Shanti, Cayan, the Honour Guard, Sanders and a select few from Cayan’s army heading back to the Westwood Lands after surviving the Trials on the fabled and feared island where the Shadow People live.

Ms Breene has been building her world and introducing us to more aspects of this amazingly rich fantasy world in each book. Invasion has a great plot that kept me gripped from beginning to end; it continues to build upon the previous books, has a fantastic amount of action-packed fighting scenes as well as giving us heart-wrenching imagery of the horrors of war but is balanced beautifully with hope, love and brilliantly written banter. As a narrated book, I was once again impressed with Caitlin Davies’s performance; loving the pace at which she read the story and her tonal adjustments for the various scenes and characters’ dialogue. I love being on Shanti’s journey with Ms Davies.

As my regular followers will know, I enjoy a story more when the leading female character is intelligent, resilient, self-reliant, has a good sense of humour and plenty of gumption. One of the reasons why I love this book so much is that Shanti and all of the women we meet have these qualities and more. I love the way that all of the characters in this story (male, female and animal) have been written, their individual stories growing and developing in each book. They have all become very real in my mind (and heart). Oh, and like most Brits I do love a bit of banter – this story has plenty of it! I found myself COL (Chuckling Out Loud) throughout.

I experienced every emotion while ready Invasion; Ms Breene had me blubbering like a baby, I loved the fact that the adventure aspect of this story kept me guessing, the action kept me on the edge of my seat, the raw emotions and growing friendships warmed by heart and the quips and banter put a smile on my face.

Well, I gave Invasion 5 stars, so obviously I really loved it.

Having said that, I feel that I should remind you that this is the fourth in a six book series, and as such, you must expect a cliffhanger or two. However, for those of you like me who HATE huge life or death cliff-hangers, rest assured, Ms Breene doesn’t leave us hanging with a perilous situation like that although she’s one of those authors where you’re never 100% sure her characters will make it to the final page, she has been known to kill off a few! Eek!

Plus there is the background story arc that is left unresolved, however, in my opinion this is a good thing as it leaves enough of a hook to made you want to carry on to see how it all ends.

I didn’t want to stop reading this book! It had everything that I look for in a great story; intelligent writing style that’s easy to read, main characters with depth of personality that I can believe in, depth of character in the supporting cast, gripping background story, believable settings and situations and a balanced mix of aspects; relationship, tension, action and mystery.

Due to the darker themes of warfare, the graphic nature of some of the more violent scenes, I would only recommend this book to adults who are not offended by content of this nature who enjoy independent capable heroines and strong alpha heroes, tense often traumatic and brutal confrontations within epic fantasy adventures. Invasion has left me breathless, desperate to read the next installment of The Warrior Chronicles series.

So, has my review of INVASION (WARRIOR CHRONICLES #4) encouraged you to find out more? I really hope so! Just click on any of the links below to check out the book yourself or to find out more about the author.

Buy INVASION in print, eBook and audio formats through the usual sources, including; Amazon UK, Amazon US, The Book Depository or read for free with your Kindle Unlimited subscription.

(I am part of Amazon , The Book Depository, Foyles Book Shop and Waterstones affiliate programmes meaning that when you use those links to buy a copy of this book, I will get a (very) small % from the sale.)

Visit K.F. BREENE‘s own little corner of the web, connect to her on social media via Twitter or Facebook or Instagram or YouTube

See INVASION on Goodreads.com or check out my profile to see the other books I’ve read.

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read this review.


2 thoughts on “Flora Reviews… Invasion (The Warrior Chronicles #4) by K.F. Breene

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.