Dragon Actually (Dragon Kin #1) by G.A. Aiken – Audiobook Review

Hello, fellow fantasy romance fans. Today, I’m sharing my thoughts about Dragon Actually by G.A. Aiken. The first book in her adult fantasy romance series, Dragon Kin.

What’s Dragon Actually about?


Read: 21st – 25th January 2021

 What did I think about it?

I read Bring The Heat as an ARC three years ago. However, listening to this audiobook has reminded me why I wanted to read the whole series.

I love G. A. Aiken’s writing style and find her stories engaging.

The prose she uses is intelligent and appropriate for the world and characters she’s created. The pace of her plots are often fast without feeling rushed. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep me guessing. I also appreciate how she concludes all the various aspects of her tales while still leaving some tantalising threads that tempt you into buying the next book.

When reading paranormal romance, I need my main female character to exhibit certain traits.

Female protagonists must demonstrate intelligence, resilience, resourcefulness, self-reliance, and have plenty of gumption. Anwyll was an amazingly tenacious woman too with a will of steel with and a wonderful wit. I must admit to having fallen in love with the stoic Fearghus almost immediately. He was dark and dangerous but his passion and capacity for love was eternal.

This audiobook also contains a second story, Chains and Flames.

Chains and Flames is a fantastic novella telling the story of how Fearghus’s parents, Rhiannon and Bercelak, got together. I was equally engrossed in their tale because it was truly a rocky path to happiness. Once again, Aiken’s skill at creating awesome female protagonists and the males that deserve them kept me hooked. Rhiannon and Fearghus ticked all my boxes. I was engaged in their adventure from start to finish.

I already own some audiobooks narrated by Hollie Jackson and I like the way she reads stories.

The pace of her narration is good and the way she read the narrative is emotive. Hollie adjusted her voice slightly while reading the dialogue. Therefore, creating different voices for the characters. I was never confused who was speaking. Hollie’s performance transported me into each scene.

Dragon Actually and Chains and Flames are exciting stories that brought out ALL of my emotions! Sorrow, fear, indignation, apprehension, joy and passion. 😉 I was gripped from beginning to end.

Content Warning:

This book has graphic violence and explicit sex as well as some darker themes. Therefore, I’d only recommend this book to adults who are OK reading material of this nature.

I’d recommend Dragon Actually to adults who enjoy romance stories about the complexities of relationships, about trust, loyalty and betrayal. And of course, lovers of adventures about overcoming insurmountable odds and soul-saving love.

The Dragon Kin series is already a firm favourite with many and I understand why. I’ll be adding more audiobooks in this series to my Audible wish list!

Has my review of Dragon Actually (DRAGON KIN #1) encouraged you to find out more? Click on any of the links to check it out yourself.

Keep reading to find out more about the series and its author.

Dragon Kin series by G. A. Aiken

The Dragon Kin series is an adult fantasy romance series. Although I think the books would sit happily on the paranormal romance shelf too. The stories are based in a fantasy world with two suns and populated by dragon shape-shifters, magic wielders and humans.

Books in the Series

There are two ways to read the Dragon Kin series. One is in the order they were written by me, and one is based on the chronology of the series. I, personally, prefer the order in which the books were written because I tease or hint about the romances of the older dragons during the full-length novels. Then in the anthos, some of the humour payoff comes out of having read those novels first. This doesn’t mean, however, that you can’t read the series in straight chronological order. I know there are some readers who hate “prequels.”

  • Dragon Actually (Dragon Kin #1) (2008)
  • About A Dragon (Dragon Kin #2) (2006)
  • What A Dragon Should Know (Dragon Kin #3) (2009)
  • Last Dragon Standing (Dragon Kin #4) (2010)
  • The Dragon Who Loved Me (Dragon Kin #5) (2011)
  • How to Drive a Dragon Crazy (Dragon Kin #6) (2012)
  • Light My Fire (Dragon Kin #7) (2014)
  • Feel the Burn (Dragon Kin #8) (2015)
  • Bring the Heat (Dragon Kin #9) (2017)

The Prequels


As I listened to the audiobook, here’s Hollie’s bio too.


Thank you for visiting and taking the time to read my thoughts. Now go add it to your TBR if it’s not already! 😉

signature graphic. Happy reading from flora image sitting on books

Have you read any of this series? Drop me comment below telling me which ones. I love to chat books!

Bye for now,

Flora x

Pinterest Pin - Audiobook Review - Dragon Kin 1 - Dragon Actually by G.A. Aiken - narrated by Hollie Jackson (1)

By Flora

I'm in my late forties, my interests are varied but since menopause hit a few years ago, I find myself becoming a "grumpy old woman" all too frequently - where has my infinite patience gone!?! Lol!
I bought a Kindle in the summer of 2013 and haven't stopped reading since. If you want to know more about me, check out my blog -

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: