Dungeon Crawl (Twenty-Sided Sorceress #8) by Annie Bellet @TantorAudio #2021AudiobookChallenge

Hello, fellow urban fantasy fans. Today, I’m sharing my thoughts about Dungeon Crawl by Annie Bellet. The eighth audiobook in her urban fantasy series, The Twenty-Sided Sorceress. My thanks to the publisher, Tantor Audio, for the free audiobook in exchange for my candid review.

What’s Dungeon Crawl about?

This post contains affiliate links (marked *). If you buy anything using my links, I'll receive a small commission from the sale, which helps run this book blog. Thanks. 🙂

Dungeon Crawl (Twenty-Sided Sorceress #8) by Annie Bellet @TantorAudio #2021AudiobookChallengeMy Rating:
Title: Dungeon Crawl by Annie Bellet
Series: Twenty-Sided Sorceress #8
Published by Doomed Muse Press on 26 February, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Shifters, Urban, Urban Fantasy, Vampires
Length: 4 hours 43 minutes
No. of Pages: 268

New Rule: Never owe a vampire a favor…

Nearly a year after defeating her evil ex, sorceress Jade Crow has found some peace running her comic book store and gaming with her friends. Until the vampire who helped her win against Samir comes knocking and wants the favor repaid.

The Archivist’s request looks simple on its surface. Go into an empty house and check for magic items.
There’s just a tiny problem: simple is not Jade’s forte. There are lies around every turn and soon she’s neck deep in undead.

Not all quests are what they seem and laid to rest doesn’t mean the dead stay buried…

Dungeon Crawl is the eighth book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series.

Source: ARC
Review Format: Audiobook, eBook
Purchase Links: Books2Read - Universal eBook Link ¦ Audible* ¦*

Listened to: 25th – 27th April 2021

What did I like about it?

A Fate Worse Than Death?

I’m already a fan of Annie’s writing style and this urban fantasy series. Dungeon Crawl is the 8th audiobook and picks up almost a year after the previous story ended. The books in the Twenty-Sided Sorceress series need to be read in order to understand the characters’ motivations and previous plotlines.

This audiobook is read by one of my favourite narrators – Hollie Jackson.

I love the pace that she reads, the emotions she portrays during the various scenes and the voices she gives the characters. Hollie wasn’t the narrator for the previous audiobooks, however, she took over the mantle with her usual finesse. She captured Jade’s personality to a tee and led us down the dark tunnels of this adventure.

The main series threat to our protagonist, Jade, was dealt with in the previous book. Therefore, we see the focus shifting in this story. A new danger has been uncovered and Jade and her friends have zombies to contend with! I enjoyed being disgusted and terrified, listening to this one. Annie is excellent at building tension and writing dynamic fight scenes. I also enjoyed the softer, emotional scenes, especially those between Jade and her bestie Harper or Jade and super-hot shifter boyfriend Alek. This story had it all.

Dungeon Crawl has taken us on a different path.

I’m excited to listen to the final two audiobooks in the series to find out where Annie will take us next. If I’m honest, I’m hoping that Jade’s heritage plays a bigger part. *Hint*hint* Plus, I’m keen to watch her, her friends and the rest of the townsfolk of Wylde, rebuild their lives. 

Keep reading to find out more the author, but first, here’s the information about this fantastic series.

Twenty-Sided Sorceress Series by Annie Bellet

This series is about comic store owner, Jade Crow. A native American sorceress who loves gaming but has escaped to the quiet little town of Wylde, Idaho, to hide from her murderous ex. Hiding in plain sight amongst Wylde’s shifters, paranormal community and unique magical landscape.

Books in the Series

If you haven’t read any of these stories yet, what are you waiting for? Click the links below to read my reviews or buy them yourself.

The series also has a few box set editions:

  • Twenty-Sided Sorceress: Books 1-3 (Justice Calling; Murder of Crows; Pack of Lies)
  • Level Grind: Twenty-Sided Sorceress Volume One (Books 1-4: Justice Calling; Murder of Crows; Pack of Lies; Hunting Season)
  • Boss Fight: Twenty-Sided Sorceress Volume Two (Books 5-7: Heartache; Thicker Than Blood; Magic to the Bone)

Buy any of the above titles in print, audio and ebook formats:

Amazon ¦ Audible* ¦ Book Depository*

And now, as promised, here’s some information about the author of this amazing series, Annie Bellet.

About Annie Bellet

Author - Annie Bellet

Annie Bellet is the USA Today bestselling author of The Twenty-Sided SorceressPyrrh Considerable Crimes Division, and the Gryphonpike Chronicles series. She holds a BA in English and a BA in Medieval Studies and thus can speak a smattering of useful languages such as Anglo-Saxon and Medieval Welsh.

Her interests besides writing include rock climbing, reading, horse-back riding, video games, comic books, table-top RPGs and many other nerdy pursuits.  She lives in the Netherlands with her husband.

Plus, as this is a review for an audiobook, here’s Hollie’s bio too.

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to read my thoughts about Dungeon Crawl. Have you got this one or any of Annie’s other books in your library? Drop me a comment below so that we can chat books! 😉

signature graphic. Happy reading from flora image sitting on books

Annie Bellet has earned her place on my Favourite Authors’ Page. Before you go, check out all the amazing authors I’ve listed. Is YOUR favourite on it?

Bye for now,

Flora x

book cover for Twenty-Sided Sorceress 8 - Dungeon Crawl by Annie Bellet

About Me

I'm in my late forties, my interests are varied but since menopause hit a few years ago, I find myself becoming a "grumpy old woman" all too frequently - where has my infinite patience gone!?! Lol!
I bought a Kindle in the summer of 2013 and haven't stopped reading since. If you want to know more about me, check out my blog -

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: