Book Reviews

Flora Reviews: The Dark Vampire (Last True Vampire #3) by Kate Baxter

Featured Image - Last True Vampire 3 - The Dark Vampire by Kate Baxter

Flora Reviews… The Dark Vampire (Last True Vampire #3) by Kate Baxter

What’s The Dark Vampire about?

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I'll receive a small commission from the sale.

Flora Reviews: The Dark Vampire (Last True Vampire #3) by Kate BaxterMy Rating:
Title: The Dark Vampire by Kate Baxter
Series: Last True Vampire #3
Genres: Adult Paranormal Romance
No. of Pages: 384

The grave threat to the tortured race of vampires is greater than ever in Kate Baxter's THE DARK VAMPIRE. An unforgettable, intensely emotional, and hot series for fans of J.R. Ward, Nalini Singh, Lara Adrian and Larissa Ione.

Centuries ago, the vampire race was almost destroyed.

Now, salvation rests upon one - the last true vampire.

For centuries, Jenner has been plagued by the shadows of his past. Now, a newly-turned vampire, he stalks the night like a wild predator, unable to satisfy his insatiable desires. Until a beautiful vampire sets his soul on fire...

Bria is pure innocence, hidden her whole life from a merciless enemy determined to hunt her down. When things become perilous, safety comes in the form of a fearsome bodyguard - Jenner.

One fateful night, Bria is saved by her vampire protector and a blazing connection is sparked. But surrendering to the powerful call of passion means breaking free from the shackles of their pasts. And with the war against the slayers more savage than ever, they must fight to survive. For the vampire race depends on it.


Formats Available: eBook, Paperback
Source: Bought
Published by Headline Eternal on 3 May, 2016
Purchase Links:Amazon UK ¦ Amazon US ¦ Book Depository

Read: 1st – 3rd May 2017

I don’t think that it’s imperative to your enjoyment of this story to have read the previous books. However, as with most series, when you read books in order, you get to know the supporting characters and the world, therefore, adding insights and the comfort of familiarity.

What did I like about The Dark Vampire?

I’m already a fan of Ms Baxter’s writing style. The way she crafts her story, the pace, how the plot evolves and the urban fantasy world that she’s building. The balance in this story between hold-your-breath tension, kickass action and steamy sex scenes was fabulous.

Those of you who have read my reviews before, know that I’m an old romantic at heart.

Therefore, the “two halves of one soul reunited” love story part of this tale satisfied my lovey-dovey side. However, it was the real relationship doubts and insecurities that added a very real and contemporary element to this tale.

While we’re talking about characters…

I also love the fact that it’s not just our main characters that we see these complexities. Every character that Ms Baxter includes feels real to me. I think it’s due to their all too human foibles that she gives them.

This book gave me all the feels that I crave. I laughed, I cried and I felt the flutters of arousal; I was gripped.

Was there anything I didn’t like about it?

Nope. Loved it all!

(Although, I must confess here that as a modern woman, I was irritated and frustrated at times with the over-protectiveness and “traditional values” that Bria experienced from her uncle, Thomas Fairchild, the rest of her coven and her soul mate, Eric Jenner!)

Basically, what I’m saying is…

I really loved this marvellous story, I think it has it all. Family and relationship drama, a good mystery as well as exciting fight scenes and passionate sex scenes!

Content Warning:

There are scenes of explicit sexual content and graphic violence in this book. Therefore, I’d only recommend it to adults who aren’t offended by scenes of this sort.

I’d recommend The Dark Vampire to lovers of adult paranormal romance. Readers who want their heroines to be intelligent, witty and independent. Fans who need their heroes strong, sexy with a big heart just waiting to be unleashed.

Read this if you’ve enjoyed the “destined soul mate” theme of Felicity Heaton’s Eternal Mates Series or Dianne Duvall’s Immortal Guardians Series.

Has my review of THE DARK VAMPIRE (LAST TRUE VAMPIRE #3) ignited your interest? Click on any of my links to check it out yourself. Keep reading to find out more about the Last True Vampire series and its author.

Last True Vampire by Kate Baxter

This is an adult paranormal romance series about vampires, half breed vampires called Dhampiri, vampire slayers, witches and other creatures that go bump in the night.

Each book is centred around a new romantic couple, while the story of rebuilding the vampire race and the fight to survive, evolves and continues as the backdrop to the romance.

Books in the Series

Amazon UK ¦ Amazon US ¦ Book Depository

About Kate Baxter

Author Kate Baxter

Kate Baxter is a die-hard romantic with a thing for Shakespeare. She lives in the great northwest where she hides away to write about all things fanged, furry, and undead. She's the author of the Last True Vampire series.

 

Thank you for visiting my blog and taking the time to read my review for The Dark Vampire. Have you read any of Kate’s books? Which are your favourite?

signature graphic. Happy reading from flora image sitting on books

You can find Kate Baxter on my favourite authors’ page. Check out the other amazing authors I love too.

Bye for now,

Flora x

About Author

I'm in my late forties, my interests are varied but since menopause hit a few years ago, I find myself becoming a "grumpy old woman" all too frequently - where has my infinite patience gone!?! Lol!
I bought a Kindle in the summer of 2013 and haven't stopped reading since. If you want to know more about me, check out my blog - www.florasmusings.com

(0) Comments

  1. […] Stripped Bear (#0.5) – The Last True Vampire (#1) – The Warrior Vampire (#2) – The Dark Vampire (#3) – The Untamed Vampire (#4) – The Lost Vampire (#5) or by searching the tag #Last True […]

  2. […] Bear (Book 0.5) – The Last True Vampire (Book 1) – The Warrior Vampire (Book 2) – The Dark Vampire (Book 3) – The Untamed Vampire (Book […]

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: