Flora Reviews: The Veil Series Complete Box Set (Books 1-5) by Pippa DaCosta

Featured Image - The Veil Series Box Set 1-5 by Pippa DaCosta

Hello, fellow urban fantasy fans. Today I’m sharing my thoughts about The Veil Series Complete Box Set (Books 1 – 5) by Pippa DaCosta

What’s The Veil Series about?

Flora Reviews: The Veil Series Complete Box Set (Books 1-5) by Pippa DaCostaMy Rating:
Title: The Veil Series Complete Box Set by Pippa DaCosta
Published by Self-Published on 12 June, 2015
Genres: Urban Fantasy
No. of Pages: 975

All five Veil Series novels now in one place You get: Beyond The Veil, #1 Devil May Care, #2 Darkest Before Dawn, #3 Drowning In The Dark, #4 Ties That Bind, #5

Beyond The Veil
Charlie Henderson is living a lie. Her real name is Muse and her attempt at a normal life is about to go up in smoke.
When a half-demon assassin walks into her life, leaving a trail of destruction in his wake, Muse must return to the one man she hoped never to see again and ask for help. The Prince of Greed isn’t known for his charity. The price is high, and the cost could tear her apart.
Trapped between the malevolent intentions of a Prince of Hell and an assassin with ulterior motives, Muse must embrace the lure of chaos at her core; the demon inside her, in order to survive.

Devil May Care
Three dead Enforcers in three weeks, their bodies butchered. Muse has seen it before, and when she reads the metal memories in the murder weapon, she sees it all again. Her owner, Damien, is back, and he wants what is rightfully his.

Darkest Before Dawn
When Akil leaves a nine year old half-blood girl on Muse’s doorstep, it’s not long before the demons come hunting, but this time Muse isn’t the target. The Institute, Muse’s immortal brother, and the Princes of Hell, all want a piece of the little half-blood. What’s so special about Dawn, and why has Akil conveniently disappeared just as Muse needs answers?

Drowning In The Dark
As the veil begins to fall and the demons bleed through onto the streets of Boston, Muse knows the battle is lost before it’s even begun.
To make matters worse, Adam and the Institute have captured Akil at a time when the city has never needed him more. Muse believes Akil’s incarceration is a ruse, because if he truly is at the mercy of the Institute, she must choose which side she’ll fight for. Human or demon?

Ties That Bind
Demons are here. Muse knows she can stop the slaughter, but to do so, she must return to the battle-scarred streets of Boston and face the cold, hard, truth. Her old life is ashes. Her love, turned to dust. But all is not lost; a spark of hope remains. A spark from which an inferno can blaze.

Source: Bought
Review Format: eBook

Read: 5th – 31st May 2016

This is an urban fantasy series featuring humans, demons and half-demons and is the complete 5 book series called The Veil (there are also a couple of novellas including a prequel “Wings Of Hope” which you get for free by signing up to Pippa DaCosta’s Newsletter). I read the first book in this series back in January 2014 and decided to download this box set from Amazon UK.

What did I like about The Veil Series box set?

Ms DaCosta’s writing style was very easy to read and never felt lost in the plot. I liked the premise for her world. Humans know about the existence of demons (but we don’t know the full truth of their power). Some demons have chosen to live in our world (in a human look-a-like shell) while the rest live in their realm the “Netherworld”. Half-demons are considered abominations/scum by the full demons and usually killed at birth.  I appreciated the way that Ms DaCosta revealed the complexities and practises of the demon world without upsetting the pace of the tale and the seed of doubt she planted in what we knew or thought we knew about circumstances, characters and fate.

I loved that our main male characters were not your typical “good” or “evil”.

Yes, it made it hard to tell who was on Muse’s side. However, people are a myriad of greys with the potential of great kindness and great evil in us all. This is what added a very believable dimension to Ms DaCosta’s characters for me; both higher demon and human.

The plot kept me guessing right to the end. It made me laugh, cry, blush from naughty thoughts and had me, literally, on the edge of my seat at times.

Was there anything I didn’t like?

In a word – no. 😉

That’s not to say that I didn’t find the actions, reasoning and behaviour of some of our main characters frustrating at times. However, (in my opinion), that’s deliberate. It’s all part of the journey and character/story development that Ms DaCosta makes us, the reader, experience to make the whole tale so involving.

This is a series, so don’t expect answers to be easily discovered. Yes there are cliffhangers at the end of a couple of books. However, that’s the advantage of buying a set, you don’t have to wait… 😉

Basically, what I’m saying is…

I really loved this series!

The Veil Series is well written with a huge amount of twists & turns that kept me guessing throughout this action-packed, emotional rollercoaster of an urban fantasy tale! I loved the development of our main characters and the direction of the story that we were taken on. In my mind, it had it all!

So, have I sparked an interested for THE VEIL COMPLETE BOX SET (Books 1-5)? Click on the links to check out the set yourself. Keep reading to find out more about the author.

About Pippa DaCosta

Author - Pippa DaCosta

Pippa DaCosta is a USATODAY bestselling, two-time DragonCon Award Finalist, and Amazon Breakthrough Novel semi-finalist hybrid author. Before securing a traditional publisher, she published the Veil Series (a x5 book urban fantasy series) independently in 2014. Pippa is traditionally published with Bloomsbury and Random House Germany. Her work has been featured in the Galaxy Chronicles anthology, part of the Future Chronicles series. Pippa continues to independently and traditionally publish fantasy and science fiction. Her books have been downloaded, bought and listened to over 1,000,000 times. 

Pippa also writes as Ariana Nash.

She lives in Cornwall, England. 

About Me

I'm in my late forties, my interests are varied but since menopause hit a few years ago, I find myself becoming a "grumpy old woman" all too frequently - where has my infinite patience gone!?! Lol!
I bought a Kindle in the summer of 2013 and haven't stopped reading since. If you want to know more about me, check out my blog -

(2) Comments

  1. […] It’s the first book in Pippa DaCosta’s trilogy Chaos Rises and is set in the same world as The Veil Series. I devoured that series back in 2016, loving every page. However, I don’t think you have to have […]

  2. […] The Veil Series Complete Box Set (The Veil #1-5) (2015) […]

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: