Reviews

Making Midlife Magic (Forty is Fabulous #1) by Heloise Hull #PWF #2021AudiobookChallenge @TantorAudio

ALC Featured Image - Forty is Fabulous 1 - Making Midlife Magic by Heloise Hull - Read by Kitty Hendrix

Hello, fellow audiobookworms. Today, I’d like to share my thoughts about Making Midlife Magic by Heloise Hull read by Kitty Hendrix. The first audiobook in Heloise’s paranormal women’s fiction series, Forty is Fabulous. My thanks to the publisher, Tantor Media, for the audiobook in exchange for a candid review.

What’s Making Midlife Magic about?

This post contains affiliate links (marked *). If you buy anything using my links, I'll receive a small commission from the sale, which helps run this book blog. Thanks. 🙂


Making Midlife Magic (Forty is Fabulous #1) by Heloise Hull #PWF #2021AudiobookChallenge @TantorAudioMy Rating:
Title: Making Midlife Magic by Heloise Hull
Series: Forty is Fabulous #1
Published by Self-Published, Tantor Audio on 14 December 2020, 22 June 2021
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Women, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghost, Later in Life, Mystery, Paranormal, Paranormal Women’s Fiction (PWF)
Narrator: Kitty Hendrix
Length: 7 hours 33 minutes
No. of Pages: 254

A new Paranormal Women's Fiction adventure for those who believe that finding your true self late in life is a blessing, not a curse--even if it turns out you may actually be cursed.

After finding my soon-to-be ex-husband together with my soon-to-be ex-assistant, I realize his "for better or for worse" didn't include my forties.

An extended vacation on a remote Italian island sounds like the perfect antidote to a midlife crisis--until I arrive. I'm expecting Chianti and pasta. What I get is a run-down bed and breakfast with the oldest Nonna in existence.

There's something about this island. Something odd. Like how everyone keeps calling me Mamma or how I'm the first tourist in decades.

And that's before I wake up to a talking chipmunk holding a glass of wine. He says I have something ancient in me, and for once, it's not my creaking joints.

When I finally discover the island's deepest secrets, I know my forties are about to be fabulous, if only I can survive long enough to enjoy them.

Fans of K.F. Breene, Robyn Peterman, and Shannon Mayer will love this new twist on paranormal women's fiction. For those who enjoy their characters a little gritty and seasoned, like a fine Italian wine, book a trip to Aradia now and experience a whole new, magical world!


Source: ARC

I received this ARC for free in exchange for an honest review. This doesn't affect my opinion of the book or influence the content of my review.

Review Format: Audiobook
Purchase Links: Books2Read - Universal eBook Link ¦ Amazon* ¦ Audible*

Listened To: 30th June – 5th July 2021

Heloise has already written and published all but the final title in this series as ebooks and paperbacks. However, she’s now teamed up with Tantor Media to create the series on audiobook!


What did I think about it?

A Wonderful Story of Self-Discovery, Strength, Mystery and Friendship.

Heloise Hull is a new-to-me author but as a woman in my late forties, I liked the premise of this story. We always hear about midlife crises when referring to men in their 40s, it was fantastic to have a female character being in the position of re-evaluating her life and the choices she’s made. I liked Heloise’s writing style; finding the language she used and the way she described the scenes engaging.

The characters Heloise created were well-written; each one eliciting one or more emotional response from me. 

Our protagonist, Ava exhibited all the personality traits that I love at various points in this story. She’s intelligent, obviously resilient considering her past, and has oodles of gumption. I loved how she learned to be self-reliant and kept her humour through her ordeal. The love she has for her twin sons resonated with my own parental feelings and I hope we get to see more of them in subsequent books.

The magical setting of an Italian island fired my imagination.

Aradia is a wonderfully unique island and I was just as flabbergasted by the inhabitants. The islanders are a diverse community, showcasing lots of different characteristics (and paranormal species). I enjoyed the blossoming and strengthening of the friendships Ava made (her Siren Squad).

Kitty Hendrix is also a new-to-me narrator.

I really enjoyed the pace at which she read this story. The emotions and inflexions she used for the different scenes felt natural and brought them to life. I know how hard it is for narrators to create voices for the opposite sex. However, Kitty’s performance caught me up and whisked me into the story so much so that I didn’t notice any jarring.

Making Midlife Magic is a really good audiobook, and I enjoyed the story.

I loved reading about Ava’s midlife coming-of-age challenges and seeing her blossom in confidence. My only niggle with the plot was the cliffhanger ending. I hate leaving a story when our protagonist is in danger. Grrr! Therefore, in an act of reader defiance, I deducted a star from my rating. So there! 😉

I’ll be looking out for the second audiobook – Making Midlife Madness – as I want to find out how Ava escapes the perilous situation she found herself in.

Has my review of Making Midlife Magic encouraged you to find out more? I do hope so. Click on any of my links to check it out yourself.

Keep reading to find out more about the Forty is Fabulous series and its author.

Forty is Fabulous by Heloise Hull

A new Paranormal Women’s Fiction adventure for those who believe that finding your true self late in life is a blessing, not a curse—even if it turns out you may actually be cursed.

Forty Is Fabulous is a completed four-book series. The series follows Ava Falcetti while she makes her way through the trials and celebrations of her new midlife adventure.

Books in the Series

  • Making Midlife Magic (Forty is Fabulous #1) (2020)
  • Making Midlife Madness (Forty is Fabulous #2) (2021)
  • Making Midlife Mistakes (Forty is Fabulous #3) (2021)
  • Making Midlife Marvels (Forty is Fabulous #4) (expected 31st August 2021)

The stories in Forty is Fabulous are available in print, eBook and audiobook formats.

Amazon* ¦ Audible*

Or, read for free using your Kindle Unlimited subscription! 💜 🥳 💜

Keep reading to find out more about Heloise.

About Heloise Hull

Author - Heloise Hull

Unlike her namesake of medieval infamy, Heloise Hull doesn't intend to have her midlife crisis in a nunnery. She'd much rather drink espresso martinis and chant in fairy rings while wearing socially questionable clothing.

In her other pen names, Heloise writes romance, nonfiction, and epic fantasy with tinges of the ancient world all thanks to worthless dual degrees in archaeology and Classics.

She splits her time between St. Louis and Chicago with her husband, two teens, and two cats, but is plotting how to bring a puppy into the chaos.

Heloise Hull is the pen name of a mother-daughter duo, writing about paranormal women's fiction and urban fantasy with a midlife twist!

And because this is a review about an audiobook, here’s the narrator’s bio.

About Kitty Hendrix

Narrator - Kitty Hendrix

Kitty Hendrix is from Carmel, California, and has been a professional actor and singer since childhood. She moved to New York City after college and found jobs singing in concert venues, cabarets, comedy clubs, and recording studios. She also acted in theatre productions, originating more than twenty leading roles; appeared in film and television; and was a founding producer of Legacy Stage Ensemble, a theatre company dedicated to the exploration of generational and social issues.

Recording audiobooks since 2013 at her studio in NYC and working in nearly every genre, Kitty has consistently received excellent reviews for her work from AudioFile magazine and others. In 2018 Kitty was nominated as a finalist for an Audie Award for her narration of Daisy Miller by Henry James. She is a proud member of SAG-AFTRA and Actors' Equity.

Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to read my thoughts about Making Midlife Magic. Have you read this one or any others by Heloise Hull? Drop a comment below, I’d love to hear from you.

signature graphic. Happy reading from flora image sitting on books

Before you go, find out why I love stories with an older female protagonist. Check out my Paranormal Women’s Fiction (PWF) page!

Bye for now,

Flora x

Pinterest Pin - Audio ARC Review - Forty is Fabulous 1 - Making Midlife Magic by Heloise Hull - Read by Kitty Hendrix (1)
Sharing is caring!

About Me

I'm in my late forties, my interests are varied but since menopause hit a few years ago, I find myself becoming a "grumpy old woman" all too frequently - where has my infinite patience gone!?! Lol!
I bought a Kindle in the summer of 2013 and haven't stopped reading since. If you want to know more about me, check out my blog - www.florasmusings.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: