Monthly Wrap Up

My July 2021 Monthly Wrap Up – Great Giveaways, Reviews & Bookish Fun!

1200x675 Featured Image - Monthly Wrap Up - July 2021

Hello, my lovelies and welcome to my July 2021 monthly wrap up post.

What have I been up to this month?

July has been quite an emotional month. We had to say a sad goodbye to our Year 6s pupils last week. I’ve been working at the school since September 2017 and I’ve been these pupils’ teaching assistant all that time. So yes, I blubbered like a baby at the leavers’ service and then again on their last day. We’ve now broken up for the summer holidays, so I’ve taken off my watch and am enjoying a more relaxed schedule. Like so many young people in the UK, both my daughters are waiting for exam results day! Results day for A level students is Tuesday 10 August, while GCSE students have to wait until Thursday 12 August.

I’m sticking to my reduction in screen time, hence the sporadic blog hopping – sorry. Plus, I’m now an audiobook junkie. Getting my reading fix through my ears instead of my eyes. 😉 The number of ocular migraines (also referred to as retinal migraines) that I’ve had this last month is down to single figures! Woop!Woop!

Coronavirus COVID-19 is still lurking about and keeps mutating! However, here in the UK, our immunisation programme is still going great guns. Over 51% of us have now been fully vaccinated (me included!) WoopWoop! The UK government introduced new changes to the National restrictions on 19th July but I’m being careful and still wearing my mask outside as well as in.

In bloggish news…

The updating of old posts is an ongoing process. However, it hasn’t been a priority these past few months due to my migraines. However, there are only five old reviews that need updating, meaning that every review on my blog will be SEO friendly. Thank you Yoast SEO plugin. 😉

Please continue to let me know if any pages, posts or links throughout Flora’s Musings either don’t open or you have problems with. Thanks.

What have I been posting?

Now on with the rest of my July 2021 monthly wrap up post. Luckily, I’ve got into the habit of creating content to add to the blog schedule. Feel free to click on anything that you missed this month.


Blog Tours

I love taking part in blog tours. This month I’ve enjoyed being a part of this one.


Reviews

And, of course, this being a book blog, I shared my thoughts about some stories this month:

~ Reviews ~

What other bookish bits and bobs were on the blog this month? 😉



That’s it for my July 2021 Monthly Wrap Up. However, moving forward, what can you expect from me in the hot holiday month of August?

~ Coming up on Flora’s Musings ~

  • Celebrating more New Book Releases.
  • Hopefully, some author interviews, book tours and spotlight posts.
  • and of course, lots of reviews!

~ My Current Reading Challenges ~

My Current Reading Challenges (2)

If you’ve been following me for a while, you’ll know that I take part in the Goodreads Annual Reading Challenge but that’s not the only one I take part in. I thought that I’d use these regular wrap up posts to update you on my progress in all the challenges that I’m taking part in …

2021 Audiobook Challenge

Last year I joined the 2020 Audiobook Challenge. I enjoyed it so much that I’ve signed up again this year.

Featured Image 1200x675 - 2021 Audiobook Challenge

Audiobooks have become my main format since reducing my screen time. Therefore, my progress towards my goal of 50+ audio listens this year is now steady and on track. Check it out on My Audiobook Challenge 2021 page.


I’m linking up to The Sunday Post – a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

Caffeinated Reviewer - Sunday Post Meme Image

(See rules here: Sunday Post Meme)

Don’t forget to hop along to some of the other amazing blogs taking part in the Sunday Post.

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my July 2021 monthly wrap up post.

signature graphic. Happy reading from flora image sitting on books

I hope you enjoy the rest of your day, stay safe and healthy.

Bye for now,


Flora x

About Me

I'm in my late forties, my interests are varied but since menopause hit a few years ago, I find myself becoming a "grumpy old woman" all too frequently - where has my infinite patience gone!?! Lol!
I bought a Kindle in the summer of 2013 and haven't stopped reading since. If you want to know more about me, check out my blog - www.florasmusings.com

(20) Comments

  1. Awww. I can only imagine how hard it must be to say goodbye to students you’ve watched grow up. I hope you’re enjoying your summer holidays in spite of COVID still being everywhere and I hope that results day brings good news to your family.

    1. Flora says:

      Thanks, Suzanne. I’m loving the break and enjoying being free of school runs. Lol! Thanks for dropping by. I hope you have a lovely week too.

  2. Glad you’re vaccinated! Brazil is behind in vaccinations thanks to our dear president wanting to negotiate prices while we’re in the middle of a dang pandemic *Face Palm*. Though there are capitals that are ahead my city is not one of them. I can’t wait to get my shots! I hope you continue to find awesome audiobooks ♡

    1. Flora says:

      *sigh* Everything is always down to money. I hope you get your shots soon too, Mikky. x

  3. That must be tough to say goodbye to the students! And the corona keeps mutating and proving difficult- I hope we as humans can be as easily adaptable!

    1. Flora says:

      Thanks, Greg, it was pretty emotional saying goodbye to our Year 6 students. I’m enjoying the summer holidays and the freedom of not wearing a watch. The Covid variants are certainly giving the doctors a run for their money. I always remember that quote in Jurassic Park by Dr Ian Malcolm “life finds a way”. 😉

  4. It must have been incredibly hard to part ways with your students I can’t imagine having 6 whole years with the same group of kids. I’m sure they will miss you too! Hope this week in a great one!

    1. Flora says:

      Thanks Tessa. There were many tears and some really thoughful messages in cards and gifts which teared me up again! Lol! Thanks for dropping and I hope you have a great reading week too. x

  5. Yay for the summer holidays! Enjoy the break. And congratulations on getting your vaccine. I’m glad you’re continuing to wear your mask; the vaccine’s good but breakthrough infections do occur.

    I like audiobooks, but still gravitate more toward reading over listening. But my offspring has visual processing issues, and has always preferred audiobooks. They are great for reducing strain on your eyes, for people with visual issues, and for listening while you do something else! I sometimes go hybrid — I read when I have the time, but when I’m doing chores, I listen to the same book (if possible), so I can continue with the story even though I can’t read at that moment. Or I alternate between a book, and a different title in audiobook format. It’s great that so many books get the audiobook treatment now.

    1. Flora says:

      Hi Lark, thanks. I started out listening to narrations of eBooks I was reading and now it’s only audiobooks for me 95% of the time. Thanks for dropping by, hope you have a great week.

  6. I want to get back to listening to audio books. I only listen when I walk, but I haven’t been able to walk because of the hot and humid weather. Hopefully I will get back to it soon.

    Have a great week!

    1. Flora says:

      I’ve been lucky, Yvonne, Hubby has been watching a lot of cricket this month so in go my buds and I get to listen to my latest audiobook! It’s a win – win. 😉

  7. I hope those results bring great news for your daughters Flora, it’s been a tough year for students.
    I’m glad to hear about the reduction in your ocular migraines.

    Wishing you a great reading week

    1. Flora says:

      Hi Shelleyrae. Thanks for dropping by and for the kind words. Hope you have a great reading week too. x

  8. Oh God, I remember results day, it was both the worst and the best once the grades came in and you knew you could go off to uni! I’m also still wearing my mask even though loads of people around me aren’t. I might join the Audiobook challenge this year, I have really been getting into audiobooks during COVID 🙂 I hope you have a lovely week!
    Juli @ A Universe in Words

    1. Flora says:

      So true, Juli! Let me know if you do join in with the challenge. Thanks for dropping by. x

  9. Yay enjoy your break! It’s hot here so we are staying home anyway. We have continued to be careful inside and out, masked when we are not home. I’m glad to hear you are vaccinated. I was converted to audiobook junkie about 6 years ago when moving.

    Anne – Books of My Heart This is my Sunday Post

    1. Flora says:

      Thanks Anne. Hope you enjoyed your staycation and the rest of the Olympics. x

  10. Great month for books! Happy August! Hope your girls do well!

    1. Flora says:

      Thanks Freda. We’ve all got our fingers crossed. Lol!

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: