Book Reviews

ARC Review: Kiss of the Fallen by Kharma Kelley

ARC Featured Image - Kiss of the Fallen by Kharma Kelley

Flora Reviews… Kiss of the Fallen by Kharma Kelley. A standalone urban fantasy novel with lots of bite. Thanks to BooksGoSocial (via NetGalley) for the advanced ebook.

So what’s Kiss of the Fallen about?

I received this ARC for free in exchange for an honest review. This doesn't affect my opinion of the book or influence the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I'll receive a small commission from the sale.

ARC Review: Kiss of the Fallen by Kharma KelleyMy Rating:
Title: Kiss of the Fallen: A Sensual Urban Fantasy by Kharma Kelley
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Adult Paranormal Romance
No. of Pages: 248

Sooner or later, Mr. Darkness comes for all of us...
At least, that's what Tristan Castilion, a celebrated Commander of the Vampire Royal Guard, believes. A centuries-old vampire, he just wanted to be left alone. He wanted nothing to do with the war brewing among all the supernaturals and had grown tired of fighting for a lost cause.
Sucked into one last mission from his vampire government, Tristan soon finds himself in the middle of a dark conspiracy within the vampire ranks and a half-naked demon chained to his bed.

She is every vampire's fantasy and nightmare...
Zo is a Black Blood Slayer-legendary demons bred to do one thing: kill vampires. A true ruler of the night, she's forced to keep her lethal wiles at bay in order to uncover the truth, creating an unlikely partnership with Tristan.

The Night Has a New Ruler...
Her blood is spiked with a desire he longs to tame, but if he does, he could be six-feet under; this time forever. But with both of them on the run and all hell breaking loose, how can he be sure she wants him to love or to destroy?

Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon, Dannika Dark and Patricia Briggs will enjoy this non-stop action story featuring a badass heroine of color. It's like Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance and a Thriller had a menage-a-trois of angry sex, then spawned this book!


Formats Available: eBook, Paperback
Source: ARC
Published by Wicked Bayou Press on 6 September, 2018
Purchase Links:Amazon UK ¦ Amazon US ¦ Book Depository


Read: 19th – 24th September 2018

Publication date: 18th September 2018.

Kiss of The Fallen is marketed as an urban fantasy novel, however, I think it’d sit quite happily on the paranormal romance shelf too. It’s set in modern-day New Orleans, USA and features vampires, witches and were-shifters.

So, what did I like about Kiss of the Fallen?

I requested Kiss of The Fallen through NetGalley for a number of reasons. The front cover caught my eye – I mean, it’s unique and beautiful. The story description piqued my interest – mortal enemies forced together and an odd couple romance, yes please. Plus I’d previously read Kharma Kelley’s Tall, Dark & Deadly and really loved it (read my review here).

Kharma Kelley’s writing style is easy to read with a good balance of action, mystery and healthy dose of sarcasm. I enjoy stories that highlight the fact that we all have choices and that the choices we make not only affect us but those around us too.

Ms Kelley spent the first few chapters world building. We were quickly brought up to speed about how her supernatural world fit within our own. As well as the politics involved in the warring factions. However, there was still plenty of action, intrigued, mystery and surprising twists.

I enjoy a story more when the characters are created with a depth of personality.

I feel that Ms Kelley’s story was populated with complex, multifaceted and completely believable ones. This was partly due to their very real human virtues and foibles, even though most of them were mythical, paranormal beings.

Although I didn’t shed a tear reading this book, I did enjoy the banter between Zoe and Tristan. It was very entertaining. The pace throughout this book had me holding my breath. The intrigue, action and thriller aspects had me on the edge of my seat. I loved the twists and turns Ms Kelley weaved into the tale. Plus, I liked the way she tied up all the loose ends without the need for any pesky cliff-hangers. Woohoo!

So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?

So, now I have to be honest and say why I rated Kiss of The Fallen 4 stars instead of 5.

I really did enjoy this book but I have to be honest and say that some of the dialogue, “bad” characters and scenes within this story had me rolling my eyes. I’m not a great fan of clichés. Luckily the bulk of the story had me gripped meaning those niggles didn’t play on my mind for long.

I’m probably also being rather mean to Ms Kelley and doing her book a dis-service but I need to explain. The ARC version I was given was in desperate need of a proofreader and editor. So much so that it hindered the flow of the story and took the edge off my enjoyment a wee bit. I’ve sent my findings to BooksGoSocial and hope the published work is much cleaner.

So, basically what I’m saying is…

I really enjoyed this book. It has everything that I look for in a good book; adventure, mystery, intrigue, action, humour and a sprinkling of romance and passion.

Content Warning:

There are scenes of explicit sexual content and graphic violence in this book. Therefore, I’d only recommend it to adults who aren’t offended by scenes of this sort.

I’d recommend Kiss Of The Fallen to adults who love hot romance novels with gritty storylines. Especially those who enjoy strong alpha heroes, independent capable heroines, tense and often brutal confrontations.

So, has my review of KISS OF THE FALLEN encouraged you to find out more? Just click on any of my links to check out the book yourself.

Keep reading to find out more about the author.

About Kharma Kelley

Author image of Kharma Kelley

A Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy author, Kharma Kelley has always been enamored with all things that go “bump in the night“. She truly believes that finding humanity and beauty in some of the most seemingly unconventional places is part of the romantic psyche to her. Her work has been featured on Cosmopolitan.com and has won several peer awards with her action-packed, steamy prose. A big fan of the Big Easy, Kharma tends to weave her proud Cajun heritage and values into her books. She enjoys reading other urban fantasy and romance novels and playing Minecraft in her spare time.

She frequents Wattpad (which she refers to as a story “incubator”) often and beta tests her new story ideas there as well as provide guidance and critiques to aspiring authors. She’s a Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) advocate and blogger in both the tech and literary industry. She is featured in Austin Woman Magazine for her thought leadership regarding building inclusive environments in the workplace.

Her works are often compared to Laurell K. Hamilton, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Gena Showalter, Kresley Cole and the late great author L.A. Banks.

She lives in Round Rock, Texas with her husband.

Thanks for visiting my blog and taking the time to read my thoughts. Have you read any of Kharma’s book? Drop me a link in the comments.

signature graphic. Happy reading from flora image sitting on books

Bye for now,

Flora x

About Author

I'm in my late forties, my interests are varied but since menopause hit a few years ago, I find myself becoming a "grumpy old woman" all too frequently - where has my infinite patience gone!?! Lol!
I bought a Kindle in the summer of 2013 and haven't stopped reading since. If you want to know more about me, check out my blog - www.florasmusings.com

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: