Books Reviews

Review: Twenty-Sided Sorceress Box Set (Books 1-3) by Annie Bellet

Featured Image - The Twenty-Sided Sorceress 1-3 by Annie Bellet

Hello fellow bookworms, today, I’d like to share my thoughts about the Twenty-Sided Sorceress Box Set by Annie Bellet. The set includes Justice Calling (#1), Murder of Crows (#2) and Pack of Lies (#3) in her bestselling urban fantasy series, Twenty-Sided Sorceress.

This post contains affiliate links (marked *). If you buy anything using my links, I'll receive a small commission from the sale, which helps run this book blog. Thanks. 🙂

Review: Twenty-Sided Sorceress Box Set (Books 1-3) by Annie BelletMy Rating:
Title: The Twenty-Sided Sorceress Series, Books 1-3: Justice Calling, Murder of Crows, Pack of Lies by Annie Bellet
on 22 April, 2016
Genres: Paranormal Romance (PNR), Urban Fantasy
Narrator: Folly Blaine
Length: 10 hours 45 minuets
No. of Pages: 302

Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.
This is the omnibus of the first three books in the USA Today best-selling urban fantasy series Twenty-Sided Sorceress, collected together for the first time in one convenient volume. Fans of The Dresden Files and The Iron Druid Chronicles will enjoy this series.

Book One - Justice Calling
Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After 25 years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she's finally safe.
As long as she doesn't use her magic.
When dark powers threaten her friends' lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He's the shifter world's judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she'll have to use her wits and her sorceress powers.
Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.

Book Two - Murder of Crows
They say you can never go home again. If only that were true.
Game store owner and nerd sorceress extraordinaire Jade Crow knows death stalks her in the form of her murderous ex-lover, Samir, a sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her power. With the help of her friends, and sexy tiger-shifter Alek, Jade trains for the inevitable confrontation.
Until her estranged father shows up begging for help. Someone or something is murdering the crow shifters of Three Feathers ranch and her father believes sorcery is the only way to stop the killings.
Faced with an unknown foe, a family that exiled her decades before, a deepening relationship with Alek, and Samir's ever-present threat, Jade will need all the power she's gained and then some to stop the Murder of Crows.

Book Three - Pack of Lies
Let sleeping dogs lie. Wolves, on the other hand.
Recovering from a broken heart and coming to terms with her family history, all sorceress Jade Crow wants is to resume running her comic book store and gaming with her friends. With a town full of strange wolf shifters, a 150-year-old peace accord hanging in the balance, and the Justice who broke her heart back in her life, Jade's plans go out the proverbial window.
Wolves are killing wolves, innocent human lives are caught in the crossfire, and not everyone in town is who they appear to be. As the bodies stack up and the doubts build, Jade and her friends race to find the true killer.
And then Jade's evil ex-lover makes another move.

©2015 AnneMarie Buhl (P)2016 AnneMarie Buhl

Source: Bought
Review Format: Audiobook
Purchase Links: Books2Read - Universal eBook Link ¦ Amazon* ¦ Audible*

This year, as you may know, I set myself the long overdue challenge of actually finishing some series! 😉 I’m linking up to the 2020 Finishing the Series Reading Challenge. Check out my progress here.

I started Twenty-Sided Sorceress series back in 2015! Eek! So before I continued with it, I downloaded this audio box set to remind myself of the characters and plot.

So, what did I think?

A Gripping Start To This Urban Fantasy Series.

The Twenty-Sided Sorceress is now a completed series. I’d already read and enjoyed these three books on my Kindle a few years ago. So I used this Audible box set to remind myself of the stories before continuing with series.

I love Ms Bellett’s writing style. The way she builds her plots, the world her tales are set in, the characters she creates and the way she lets them evolve. For me to root for a female protagonist, she has to show certain personality traits. Most important of which are intelligence, resilience and gumption. Jade Crow has these as well as a humour that made me chuckle. However, it was her insecurities that made her feel credible as a person.

I loved watching Jade grow through these stories and know that there’s more for her to learn in the books to come.

Folly Blaine is a new-to-me narrator. I felt that she encapsulated Jade’s character with her performance and liked the pace she read these stories. However, I’ve listened to other narrators whose talents include character voices. Folly’s performance lacked this, making many of the scenes filled with dialogue hard for me to follow.

The three books contained a different mystery to uncover or crime to solve.

Following how Jade and her friends solved each one, kept my Miss Marple mind engaged. I loved this standalone aspect of the books. As with every great book written as part of an ongoing series, there are threads unresolved and questions unanswered in each book. However, none of them ended in a life-or-death cliffhanger. I really appreciated that, as I HATE cliffhangers like that! 😉

I can’t wait to pick up the series again.

Twenty-Sided Sorceress Series by Annie Bellet

This series is about comic store owner, Jade Crow. A native American sorceress who loves gaming but has escaped to the quiet little town of Wylde, Idaho, to hide from her murderous ex. Hiding in plain sight amongst Wylde’s shifters, paranormal community and unique magical landscape.

Books in the Series

If you haven’t read any of these stories yet, what are you waiting for? Click the links below to read my reviews or buy them yourself.

The series also has a few box set editions:

  • Twenty-Sided Sorceress: Books 1-3 (Justice Calling; Murder of Crows; Pack of Lies)
  • Level Grind: Twenty-Sided Sorceress Volume One (Books 1-4: Justice Calling; Murder of Crows; Pack of Lies; Hunting Season)
  • Boss Fight: Twenty-Sided Sorceress Volume Two (Books 5-7: Heartache; Thicker Than Blood; Magic to the Bone)

Buy any of the above titles in print, audio and ebook formats:

Amazon ¦ Audible* ¦ Book Depository*

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my thoughts. I hope I’ve sparked your interest in the Twenty-Sided Sorceress series and that you add these books to your towering TBR piles.

signature graphic. Happy reading from flora image sitting on books

If you’ve already read any of these books, I’d love to hear your thoughts. 😉

Bye for now,

Flora x

Pinterest Pin - AudioBook Review - The Twenty-Sided Sorceress Box Set 1-3 by Annie Bellet Narrated by Folly Blaine (1)

About Me

I'm in my late forties, my interests are varied but since menopause hit a few years ago, I find myself becoming a "grumpy old woman" all too frequently - where has my infinite patience gone!?! Lol!
I bought a Kindle in the summer of 2013 and haven't stopped reading since. If you want to know more about me, check out my blog -

(1) Comment

  1. It sounds like you really enjoyed this, thanks for sharing it!

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: