Reviews

The Promised Queen (Forgotten Empires #3) by Jeffe Kennedy @TantorAudio

ALC Featured Image - Forgotten Empires 3 - The Promised Queen by Jeffe Kennedy - Read by Gabrielle Baker

Hello, my lovelies. Today, I’m sharing my thoughts about The Promised Queen by Jeffe Kennedy. The third and final instalment in her bestselling fantasy trilogy, Forgotten Empires. My thanks to the publisher, Tantor Audio, for the free audiobook in exchange for my candid review.

What’s The Promised Queen about?

This post contains affiliate links (marked *). If you buy the book using that link, I'll receive a small commission from the sale.

The Promised Queen (Forgotten Empires #3) by Jeffe Kennedy @TantorAudioMy Rating:
Title: The Promised Queen by Jeffe Kennedy
Series: Forgotten Empires #3
Published by St. Martin's Publishing Group, Tantor Audio on 25 May, 2021
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance
Narrator: Gabrielle Baker
Length: 14 hours 39 minutes
No. of Pages: 320

In The Promised Queen, the thrilling finale to Jeffe Kennedy's Forgotten Empires trilogy, the fate of the world hangs in the balance as Con, Lia, and their allies sacrifice everything in a final bid to destroy the corrupt empire.

Claim the hand that wears the ring, and the empire falls.

Conrí, former Crown Prince of Oriel, claimed the hand that wears the Abiding Ring, but the prophecy remains unfulfilled. Queen Euthalia of Calanthe returned to her island kingdom, but broken in mind and body. With the blood of war unleashing ancient terrors, Calanthe isn’t the haven it once was.

Lia must use her magical bond with Calanthe to save their people while Con fights to hold off the vengeful Emperor Anure and his wizards. Con and Lia will have to trust in each other—and in love—to fend off ultimate disaster.

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, the lush romantic fantasy world of the Forgotten Empires series will sweep you away.

©2021 Jeffe Kennedy (P)2021 Tantor


Source: ARC

I received this ARC for free in exchange for an honest review. This doesn't affect my opinion of the book or influence the content of my review.

Formats Available: Audiobook, eBook
Purchase Links: Books2Read - Universal Link ¦ Audible* ¦ Book Depository* ¦ Waterstones*

Listened To: 28th – 31st May 2021

This fantasy world of Kings and Queens, tyrants and rebels, reminds me of the historic fiction I read years ago.  Forgotten Empires is similar to the stories written about the royal houses of Europe. However, the added elements of ancient magic and forgotten arts shifts these tales into the fantasy genre.

What did I think about it?

A Gripping Finale To This Engaging Trilogy.

Forgotten Empires has been a captivating series and I’ve loved Jeffe’s writing style. I’m impressed and enthralled with her beautiful and descriptive use of language. The prose she uses is intelligent, eloquent, and very reminiscent of a historical novel. It plunges you into the fantasy world she’s created. The words that Jeffe chooses and the way she forms each sentence sets the scene beautifully in my mind.

Gabrielle Baker is a new-to-me narrator.

I loved the pace at which Gabrielle read this story and the emotions she conveyed. She created some wonderful voices for Jeffe’s characters – and they are many in this fantasy tale. 😉 I was never confused as to whose perspective we were listening to or who was speaking during the conversations. Gabrielle brought the story to like in my ears!

Characters I can believe in – even the evil sods.

Jeffe weaved realistic human behaviours, known historic attitudes and etiquettes into her fantasy world. For me, this attention to detail made it feel more believable. Lia and Conrí lead us through the story with their own chapters and sections. Therefore, giving us a chance to know their inner dialogue. I really like this because it helped me to gain a further depth of understanding, empathy, and connection to both of them.

A female protagonist that ticked my boxes.

I crave certain personality traits; intelligence, resilience, self-reliance, and gumption. Although Lia is a queen and lived under a plethora of restrictions, she showed plenty of gumption through the many trials and tribulations thrown at her. I loved seeing her grow and blossom in this story. She has a sharp political mind, a wonderful sense of humour and immense compassion and love.

There are so many aspects of The Promised Queen that captivated me.

Jeffe created a gripping plotline, both for the trilogy as a whole and within each book, that felt inventive and well planned out. The subtleties of court life were intriguing and the differences between Queen Euthalia and that of Emperor Anure’s stronghold were insightful. The brutality, prejudice and injustice were hard to read at times, making my heart break. The fight scenes were breathtaking, keeping me on the edge of my seat and I was caught out by some surprising twists. Tears trickled down my cheeks listening to some of the more emotional scenes. However fear not, there was enough gentle humour and banter to balance the tears, the relationship between Lia and Conrí both warmed my old romantic heart and set the fires a-blazing too. *oh my*

The Promised Queen is my favourite book of the trilogy!

Has my review of THE PROMISED QUEEN (FORGOTTEN EMPIRES #3) encouraged you to find out more? ‘Course it has! 😉 Click on any of the links to check it out yourself.

Keep reading to find out more about Jeffe Kennedy, but first, here’s some information about this amazing series.

 Forgotten Empires by Jeffe Kennedy

From RITA award-winning author Jeffe Kennedy comes an engrossing romantic fantasy series, Forgotten Empires. Lia, the Queen of Calanthe, and Con, the fallen prince of Oriel and King of Slaves, must join forces to overthrow an evil emperor in this expansive new world that will delight fans of high romance fantasy.

Books in the Series

Buy THE FORGOTTEN EMPIRE in print, eBook and audio formats through the usual sources, including:

Audible* ¦ Book Depository* ¦ Waterstones*

And now, as promised, here’s Jeffe’s bio.

About Jeffe Kennedy

Author - Jeffe Kennedy. Credit Pritschow Photography

Jeffe Kennedy is an award-winning author whose works include novels, non-fiction, poetry, and short fiction. She has won the prestigious RITA® Award from Romance Writers of America (RWA), has been a finalist twice, been a Ucross Foundation Fellow, received the Wyoming Arts Council Fellowship for Poetry, and was awarded a Frank Nelson Doubleday Memorial Award. She serves on the Board of Directors for the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) as a Director at Large.

She lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico, with two Maine coon cats, plentiful free-range lizards and a very handsome Doctor of Oriental Medicine.

As this is a review for an audiobook, it’s only right that I share Gabrielle’s bio too. 🙂

About Gabrielle Baker

Narrator - Gabrielle Baker

Gabrielle Baker is a highly respected and experienced British voice actor with her own studio at her home in Kent, England. A trained actor, she has become a bestselling audiobook narrator for award-winning authors around the world.

Gabrielle has a natural RP British accent and is also experienced with accents such as Dublin, Cork, Scottish, Australian, and most regional British accents. More than anything Gabrielle describes herself as a "storyteller," and her love and passion for audiobooks has seen her rise in the industry over the last few years. She has a strong following of listeners and authors who seek out her work, and she has been described as " . . . an auditory joy!"

She says, "I'm a mum of two, wife and co-worker with a Jackawawa called Tootsie, who is the best studio pal you could wish for. I don't have to separate my work life and my family life, because I'm lucky to have a job I love and have a home studio.  Like all working mums I juggle, keep plates spinning and occasionally manage leisure time. During these moments I practice yoga, mindfulness and enjoy any time I can spend in nature. I have a passion for food, reading, Prince and humour."

Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to read my review of The Promised Queen. Have you got this one or any of Jeffe’s other books in your library? Drop me a comment below so that we can chat books! 😉

signature graphic. Happy reading from flora image sitting on books

Jeffe Kennedy is now on my Favourite Authors’ Page because of this trilogy. Before you go, check out all the other amazing authors I’ve listed. Is YOUR favourite among them?

Bye for now,

Flora x

Pinterest Pin - Audio ARC Review - Forgotten Empires 3 - The Promised Queen by Jeffe Kennedy - Read by Gabrielle Baker

About Me

I'm in my late forties, my interests are varied but since menopause hit a few years ago, I find myself becoming a "grumpy old woman" all too frequently - where has my infinite patience gone!?! Lol!
I bought a Kindle in the summer of 2013 and haven't stopped reading since. If you want to know more about me, check out my blog - www.florasmusings.com

(1) Comment

Don't be shy, leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: